TATL #15: Feedback Part 1

Main Content: In this first part of a two-part series, Emily and Roger talk about corrective feedback for students. 

 

 

Here are Emily's Correction Symbols:

CORRECTION SYMBOLS

Symbol: A

Meaning and Explanation: article

You are missing an article (a/an/the)

ex) I lived with host family and their dog. WRONG

ex) I lived with a host family and their dog. RIGHT

 

Symbol: AWK

Meaning and Explanation: awkward meaning

Your sentence is confusing. Rewrite it and clarify what you mean.

ex) Another difference is the amount of traffic the caused on the road. WRONG

ex) Another difference is the amount of traffic that is caused on the road. RIGHT

 

SymbolCAP/LC

Meaning and Explanation: capitalize/lower case

You made a capitalization/lower case error.

ex) My name is emily. WRONG

ex) My name is Emily. CORRECT

 

Symbol: FRA

Meaning and Explanation: Your sentence is missing a subject, a verb, or both.

ex) _______ Are hungry in the morning. WRONG

ex) They____ hungry in the morning. WRONG

ex) They are hungry in the morning. RIGHT

 

Symbol: P

Meaning and Explanation: punctuation

You made a punctuation (, . ! ? ’)mistake or your need to add a punctuation.

ex) Are you happy. WRONG

ex) Are you happy? RIGHT

 

Symbol: PAR

Meaning and Explanation: parallel structure

You made a parallel structure mistake

ex) Public transportation and using a private car are different. WRONG

ex) Using public transportation and using a private car are different. RIGHT

 

Symbol: PL/SING

Meaning and Explanation: plural/singular

You made a plural/singular noun mistake.

ex) I have a lot of cat. WRONG

ex) I have a lot of cats. RIGHT

ex) Every students need to do their homework. WRONG

ex) Every student needs to do their homework. RIGHT

 

Symbol: RO

Meaning and Explanation: run-on

Your sentence is too long: has too many ideas or uses commas incorrectly.

ex) I am tired, and I miss home, and I miss my friends, I dislike homework. WRONG

ex) I am tired, and I miss home. I miss my friends. I dislike homework. RIGHT

 

Symbol: SP

Meaning and Explanation: spelling

You have the wrong spelling.

ex) I like to drink jous. WRONG

ex) I like to drink juice. RIGHT

 

Symbol: SS

Meaning and Explanation: sentence structure error

You made a

ex) I want to play. But I am tired. WRONG (compound sentence error)

ex) I want to play, but I am tired. RIGHT

ex) Even though I am busy. I will go to the gym. WRONG (complex sentence error)

ex) Even though I am busy, I will go to the gym. RIGHT

 

Symbol: SV

Meaning and Explanation: subject verb agreement

Your subject and verb do not match.

ex) She eat breakfast. WRONG

ex) She eats breakfast. RIGHT

 

Symbol: VF

Meaning and Explanation: verb form

Your verb form has some kind of mistake.

ex) I didn’t used the car. WRONG

ex) I didn’t use the car. RIGHT

 

Symbol: VT

Meaning and Explanation: verb tense

You have the wrong verb tense.

ex) Yesterday, I eat breakfast early. WRONG

ex) Yesterday, I ate breakfast. RIGHT

 

Symbol: WC

Meaning and Explanation: wrong word choice

Your choice of words is incorrect

ex) Due to Tokyo is the most population country, more people buy phones. WRONG

ex) Since Tokyo is the most populous country, more people buy phones. RIGHT

 

WIMB

Emily: "Egg" 


Roger: "Bose Bluetooth/Wired Speakers"

https://www.bose.com/products/speakers/wireless_speakers/soundlink-bluetooth-speaker-iii.html#v=soundlink_mobile_iii_silver?srccode=cii_17588969&cpncode=43-116314164-2&perfsourceid=MC113165&src=K22350